An interim body has been appointed by the President Maithripala Sirisena for rehabilitation of drug addicts, on Wednesday, 20th February 2019. The members of the interim body are

  • Ven Kuppiyawatte Bodhananda Thero
  • Retired DIG Sirisena Herath
  • Dr Samantha Kithalawaarchchi, Head of the Presidential Task Force on Drugs Eradication
  • Specialist Dr Jayamal de Silva
  • Dr Danush Mahesh
  • Senior Lecturer Dr Ramani Perera
  • Former Prisons Commissioner Gamini Jayasinghe
  • Former Secretary to State Ministry Shanthi Naukarasan.

The above interim body has been appointed until setting up an authority on rehabilitation of drug, which is underway.

Categories: Media Article


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published.