The judiciary of Sri Lanka is the highest of courts  which interprets and applies the law in Sri Lanka. It is set out in Constitution, which defines courts as independent institutions within the traditional framework of checks and balances.

Sri Lankan courts are presided over by professional judges. Judges of the Supreme Court are appointed by the President with the nomination of the Parliamentary Council, others by the Judicial Service Commission.

The Sri Lanka judicial system is  a complex blend of both common-law and civil-law. In some cases such as capital punishment, the decision may be passed on to the President of the Republic for clemency petition.

Sri Lanka’s judiciary consists of a Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, High Court, and a number of subordinate courts. Sri Lanka’s legal system reflects diverse cultural influences. Criminal law is fundamentally British. Basic civil law is Roman-Dutch, but laws pertaining to marriage, divorce, and inheritance are communal, known respectively as Kandyan, Thesavalamai (Jaffna Tamil) and Muslim. Roman-Dutch law applies to Low-country Sinhalese, Estate Tamils and others.

The supreme court rulings take precedence over all lower Courts.

Courts of law :

Supreme Court of Sri Lanka

                                                 The Supreme Court of Sri Lanka was created in 1972 after the adoption of a new Constitution. The Supreme Court is the highest and final superior court of record and is empowered to exercise its powers, subject to the provisions

of the Constitution. More on Sri Lanka Supreme Court >> link to