Sri Lanka is an affordable high quality education destination.

Sri Lanka has a rich, vibrant education history with renowned State-run Universities as well as a host of private universities, education institutes and technical colleges offering both local and foreign nationalities a wide range of disciplines.

There are 16 national universities in Sri Lanka. Students can obtain a Bachelor’s degree in 3 or 4 years, depending on the subject and specialisation . However, courses such as Medicine or Architecture can last 6 years. Academic year in Sri Lanka begins in January and ends in December divided by two semesters.

For information on Universities in Sri Lanka, please visit this page : or

Information on Post Graduated Courses in Sri Lanka, please visit this page :


The Government of Sri Lanka is now calling applications for the award of Presidential Scholarships for undergraduate studies for the academic year 2016/17 to study at 14 Universities in Sri Lanka. The field of study include: Law, English, Biological Science, and Accounting Financial, French Studies, Health Promotion, Management, Marketing, Agricultural Technology, Economics, Peace and Conflict Resolution, Buddhist Studies, Information and Communication Technology, etc.

 Scholarship include settlement allowance, tuition fee, free visa, monthly living allowance, airfare on reimbursement and free medical charges.

 Each application should be recommended by the Government Nominating Agency by filling out the section 06 B of the application. The Government Nominating Agency shall submit the applications with their recommendation to the Embassy of Sri Lanka in Jakarta for forwarding the same to the Ministry of Higher Education and Highway of Sri Lanka.

The deadline for applications is 3rd May 2017 to be received by the Embassy of Sri Lanka, Jakarta.

The scholarship notice and the application can be downloaded at

Or in this link :

Presidential Scholarship Announcement:.

Application Form :

University Code (Unicode) :